top of page


Mike Fletcher Jazz Orchestra (MFJO) was originally formed in 2012 for a commission by Birmingham Symphony Hall with guest soloists saxophonist Andrew D’Angelo and drummer Dan Weiss. In the intervening years the ensemble has taken on a number of forms in response to new commissions, projects, and ideas. These have included Different Trane, a 2013 commission to write music for a festival celebrating the music of Steve Reich, and a 2016 collaboration will acclaimed composer Anna Meredith.


The ensemble’s most recent project was Picasso(s):Interactions, a large-ensemble adaptation of his solo saxophone piece.


Collective personnel has included:


Robbie Robson, Nick Malcom, Sean Gibbs, Sam Wooster & Aaron Diaz – trumpet

Kieran McLeod, Richard Foote – tbn

Andy Johnson – tuba

John O’Gallagher, Tom Challenger, Lluis Mather & George Crowley – sax

Dan Nicholls – piano

Tom Ford – guitar

Chris Mapp – bass

Jonathan Silk - drums

bottom of page